PUL President Mr. Charles B.  Coffey, Jr. PUL President Mr. Charles B.  Coffey, Jr.

PUL names Committees for 2022 Elective Congress in  November

The Press Union of Liberia(PUL) has named its Congress Preparatory Committee for the Union’s 2022 Elective Assembly in November.

Founded in Monrovia on September 30, 1964, the PUL  is the umbrella organization serving Liberian media professionals and institutions.

With a membership base of more than 1000 journalists, the PUL has oversight responsibility for addressing problems arising from journalists’ reportage and conduct in the face of the ever-growing demand for quality and good taste. 

It operates under the auspices of four elected officers namely: President, Vice President, Secretary General and Assistant Secretary General for a three-year tenure. Individuals occupying the jobs are required by the Union’s Constitution to hold office for two terms.

Those appointed to the 2022 Press Union of Liberia Congress Preparatory Committee are:  Carolyn Myers, Chairman, CRISPIN TURLAY, Co- Chair, 

 Ansu Konneh – Secretary and Cllr. Bobby Livingstone.

Other  Members of the committee are:  Hector Mulbah,  Alfred Johnson and  Chris Harris Williams.  

The 2022 Press Union of Liberia Congress Preparatory Committee will, among other things,  lead all organizational efforts in  ensuring the successful conduct of the 2022 PUL Assembly which includes the current leadership reporting on its three-year stewardship.

At the same time, the umbrella body of journalists in Liberia has also appointed its 2022 Elections Committee with    Atty. Ade Weade Kerkula- as Chairperson.

Other key individuals on the committee are:  Atty. Al-Varney Rogers as Co-chair and Melody Mezay-Ketter as  Secretary. 

Emmanuel Johnson and   Calixte S. Hessou will serve as members of the committee respectively.

According to the PUL,  the 2022 Elections Committee is mandated to conduct the crucial November Polls in keeping with the Union’s Constitution and as well act within the scope of the Liberian Constitution.

The PUL also released names of other  subcommittees of the PUL Congress Preparatory organ to include: Program & Publicity Committee (PPC)   where   T. Korta Dogba was named as Chairman,    Patmelia Doe Paivey as  Co-chair and    D. Keheineh Seigbeh, as Secretary, while  Cholo Brooks, Trojan Kiazolu, 

Jerome Toe and Anthony Stevens will provide membership support to the committee.

As for Accreditation & Logistics Committee (ALC)  Facia Harris will chair the committee and will ably be assisted by Wilhelemina Garr Stevens and Jasee Burphy. 

Other key individuals of the committee are  Workadah Boah and  Zoquaye Beslow Konneh

Consisting of three persons, the Financial & Operational Review Committee (FORC) will be led by  Moses Kowo,  Samwar S. Fallah and Augusta McGill Pshorr. Meanwhile, Congress by constitutional mandate will meet in the second week of November at a location to be determined later by the Leadership of PUL in order to bring on board new breed of leaders to steer the affairs of the PUL.

Read 115 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments