As Unity Party gears up for 2023 Elections, Mo Ali, Modad voted out

As Unity Party gears up for 2023 Elections, Mo Ali, Modad voted out Featured

In the build-up to the 2023 Presidential and Legislative Elections, the former ruling Unity Party (UP) has made critical changes to its leadership structure with the elections of motivational speaker Rev. Luther Tarpeh and Amos Tweh as Chairman and Secretary General respectively.

In what was regarded as a politically charged electoral process held at the Administration Building in Gbarnga City, Bong County, Rev. Tarpeh defeated incumbent Chairman Amin Modad, while Amos Tweah overcame Mohammed Ali in the UP’S chief scribe race.
The election of Rev. Tarpeh ends the two-year reign of businessman Modad, who ascended to the UP’s top administrative position in 2020 by defeating River Gee County Senator Conmany B. Wesseh 34 to eight votes.
The 47-year-old Liberian businessman is said to have brought financially viability to the former ruling establishment. However, political pundits believe that the political image of the party was being dwindled, and as such, there was a need for immediate change.

 Also at the convention, Bong County former Superintendent Selena Polson-Mappy defeated former Monsterrado County Electoral District #1 Representative Josephine George Francis for the position of Vice Chairman for Women Affairs of the party, while the incumbent Senior National Vice Chairman of the party, Dabah Varpilah was elected on a white ballot.
Among other positions, the former Deputy Secretary for Press and Public Affairs, Cornelia Kruah, also won unopposed for the position of Vice Chairman for Inter-Party Affairs after the Election Committee disqualified B. Miller Catakaw for his failure to pay his dues.

Despite respective defeats, Modad and Ali in respect to true democratic tenets, congratulated their opponents for their victories.
“I congratulate Rev. Luther Tarpeh on winning the Chairmanship of the Unity Party and all those ascending to leadership. I thank the partisans (especially those who supported us) who braved all the challenges to participate in this convention to fulfill their democratic rights and obligations. Over the last 20 months, I was afforded the unique opportunity to serve and work with a phenomenal team of dedicated colleagues including Dabah M. Varpilah, Jeror Cole Bangalu, RLayfette Giddings, Cornelia Kruah-Togba, Ben A. Fofana, Whroway Bryant, Selena Mappy, Edmund ForhForh, Christian Cooper, Henry Zohnweah, and others, who mean so well for the Party and country. Together, we have set the platform for many possibilities,” said Modad in a statement.
“For this, I have no regrets. I’ll be remiss if I don’t express my deepest appreciation to the dynamic campaign team led by Cllr. Jeror Cole Bangalu and Alphonso Belleh, supported by Togar Melvin Cephas, Charles Roberts, and the staff at the UP National Headquarters including Zunu K. Duyann, Klubo MulbahBartee, SeamaneeKolleh, Victoria Hodge, etc who made our work easier. I thank all the political leaders with whom I interacted and worked with to influence change and make Liberia better.

‘’Finally, I thank my supportive and wonderful wife, Fredrica Perkins-Modad, and family for the sacrifices and support to be able to pursue my political path and support the Unity Party. You all have inspired me and will always be part of my political journey. God Bless,” he added.

Outgoing Secretary General Ali uttered: “Congratulations to Partisan Amos Tweh for his election as National Secretary General of our great Unity Party. Like I said during the debate, our commitment remains with the institution and our goal remains 2023. We will not waiver in our quest to ensure that a more formidable UP wins in 2023. We trust the ability of the new leadership and we trust they will do all they can for our victory. I also congratulate our Chairman elect, Rev. Luther Tarpeh. Our partisans have spoken and we must all abide. This is democracy.”
“Over our one year 10 months service, we brought so much life to the party and achieved a lot together. We were able to advert so many catastrophes that would have effectively ended the existence of our party. Cornelia Kruah-Togba, Whroway Bryant, Ben Fofana, James Yolei, Christian Cooper, Emmanuel KunnehWreh Farr, Collins Tamba, Selena Mappy, Edmund ForhForh, GayduoZayzay, Frances Wright, Valerie Williams, Patience Randall, Nene Chieyoe, Simi Will Kuitay, Amb Evans BoimaTuku and all the other winners, I say a big congratulations and I am super proud of you all. Dabah M. Varpilah, you are the mother on the team and I want to congratulate you for this super big victory. Now let’s go and get Cape Mount in 2023,” he, among other things, added.


Login to post comments